( 0 item ) YOUR CART

Show navigationClose navigation

About the Collection

The TarraWarra Museum of Art collection was formed by Eva and Marc Besen who donated artworks from their own private collection to the public of Australia. When the Museum opened in the Yarra Valley in December 2003, Mr and Mrs Besen had donated a total of 142 artworks to form the beginnings of the collection.

The collection is comprised of Australian works of art primarily from the early 1950s to the present day, the same period during which Marc and Eva Besen have collected art. The collection highlights artists whose work has come to prominence from the 1950s onwards: artists who have shaped the development of modern art in Australia since the precursors of the 1930s and 1940s. While containing examples of internationally informed art, the TarraWarra Museum of Art collection demonstrates a coherent and uniquely Australian character, strongly founded in this nation’s interior and exterior world.

Eva and Marc Besen continue to donate works and acquisition funding to the Museum. In addition there are a small number of works that have been gifted to the Museum by artists and individuals.

TarraWarra Museum of Art is committed to facilitating access to its collection through the presentation of one collection exhibition per year and the display of artworks from the collection in the Museum foyer year-round. The Museum regularly collaborates with other art institutions and fosters collegiality through outward loans and tours to suitable institutions.