Photo: Fergus Floyd

TarraWarra Biennial 2012: Sonic Spheres Opening Weekend Performances

Saturday 4 August 2012 - Sunday 5 August 2012

An assemblage of contemporary Australian artworks engaged with sound, music and voice

The TarraWarra Museum of Art will present the third iteration of its biennial from 5 August to 9 December 2012. Dedicated to showcasing contemporary and innovative Australian art, the TarraWarra Biennial will be curated by TWMA Director Victoria Lynn.

This year, the biennial will include the work of 20 artists and one collaborative group: Robyn Backen, Lauren Brincat, Eugene Carchesio, The Donkey’s Tail, Marco Fusinato, Nathan Gray, David Haines & Joyce Hinterding (collaboration), Ross Manning, Dylan Martorell, Victor Meertens, Angelica Mesiti, Yukultji Napangati, James Newitt, Tom Nicholson with Andrew Byrne (collaboration), John Nixon, Sandra Selig, Christian Thompson, Ray James Tjangala and Johnny Yungut Tjupurrula.

The exhibition presents an assemblage of works engaged with sound, music and voice and will include drawings, musical scores, assemblages made from musical instruments, paintings and video. These works express the sonic through visual means. Many of the works are created through the use of improvisation and assemblage.

Accompanying the exhibition will be an opening weekend of improvised sound performances and artists’ talks.

Saturday 4 August from 12.30pm
Live Performances by
Eugene Carchesio and Sandra Selig
David Haines and Joyce Hinterding
Ross Manning
Dylan Martorell
A Scratch Ensemble

Sunday 5 August from 12.30pm
Live Performances by 
Dylan Martorell

Artists’ talks by
Robyn Backen
Lauren Brincat
Tom Nicholson
Sandra Selig

There will also be a program of live performances on the first Sunday of every month throughout the exhibition.

The Story Visit
Three new exhibitions now showing!BOOK TICKETS