Potters Cottage, Warrandyte installation view
TarraWarra Museum of Art, 2005

Potters Cottage, Warrandyte
1958 > Work of the Founding and Associate Members
An Introductory Exhibition from the Collection of John Nixon

Past Exhibitions
19 August - 1 October 2005

Potters Cottage was a co-operative founded in Warrandyte in 1958 for the purpose of advocating the idea of making and selling handmade Australian pottery. The potters produced beautiful, functional studio pottery with attention to shape, decoration and glaze, bringing ancient craft together with the modern. Whilst they shared certain principles in their work, the distinctive style and individuality of each artist is strongly evident. Their shared idealistic belief that modern, handmade pottery could enhance the quality of contemporary life was central to their philosophy.

The five founding members from 1958 were Reg Preston, Phyl Dunn, Artur Halpern, Gus McLaren and Charles Wilton; three additional members from 1961 were Sylvia Halpern, Elsa Ardern and Kate Janeba and the final member was Peter Laycock in 1969. The only founding member who was not a potter was the architect John Hipwell who acted as the group’s President.

The Story Visit
Temporarily closed for exhibition installation. Open again 3 Aug